The Table of Less Valued Knights by Marie Phillips

I had high hopes for this book. Hmmm, oh well.

A quick read indeed. This is the kind of book you can pick up for 10 minutes at a time and still follow the story easily each time. I was told this book would make me laugh out loud, and while it was funny and it made me smirk every so often, I most certainly wasn’t laughing out loud. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was much funnier than this, so in that way my expectations were let down.

Though I won’t discount this book entirely as it really was a fun take on the Arthurian knights. It poked fun at a lot of ways societies were run way back when, and even brought up the issues of race and sexual orientation, though it didn’t really deal with those issues, it more so just plunked them in there for the sake of pointing them out.

This book is May/June’s book club read and it’s the first time we will discuss a book that isn’t literary or that deals with heavy subject matter. I’m not sure what we’ll talk about because there isn’t as much (if any) substance to this book as we’re used to. Book club meets in a couple of weeks from now, I guess I have some time to stew over this one before we have at her.

Book Stats!

Title: The Table of Less Valued Knights
Author: Marie Phillips
Published in: 2014
Where it came from: Chapters, after a looooong search in used bookstores was unsuccessful
Reading challenge category: a funny book
Page count: 308
Other categories it could have filled:
 a book that is set in another country, a book by an author I’ve never read, a book with nonhuman characters, a book by a female author, a book set in a place I’d like to visit, a book a friend recommended, a book that has magic, and a book that has a love triangle
Favourite character: Martha
Favourite line: “There are things in this world that matter more than you, astonishing as this news may be. And yes, I do think you’re an idiot. Frankly, it’s not a matter of opinion. Get a dictionary and a mirror. And while we’re on the subject of mirrors, your teeth are ridiculous!”

Leave a comment