Cookies 2.0

A long while ago I made peanut butter cookies from the dairy free recipe book my friends made for me last Christmas. The other day I wanted cookies so I made them again, but this time I went crazy and added oats! Whoa, right!?

I used exactly the same recipe (which you can find here> Cookies!!!) and then just before I made little balls of dough to cookie-ify I dumped an unmeasured amount of oats into the mix. If I had to guess how much it was, it probably ended up being between 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup. Who knows? If you like oats, the more the merrier I suppose!

photo (48)

So I mixed in my oaties and balled up my dough, made ’em nice and hot, then let them cool. As you do, eh? Oh and right after I took them out of the oven I sprinkled some salt on the cookies. It’s supposed to be big crystals of sea salt, but I’m not that fancy so I just used table salt. The salt was a great call, yum.

photo (49)

Then I was left with discs of deliciousness! The oats didn’t change the flavour of the cookies (which isn’t an issue because they already taste yummy) but it changed the texture for the better! I recall the oat-less version of this recipe as being crisper and crumblier, but the oats made them chewier which is a wonderful improvement.

Yay for experimental deliciousness!

Leave a comment