Yesterday was Breakfast. Today is Dinner.

Apparently I’m doing a Recipe Week type thing…because not only was yesterday a breakfast recipe and today dinner, but tomorrow will be dessert!

So I was at my parent’s place the other day and ended up staying for dinner. Instead of cooking a brand new dinner, we all fended for ourselves with the left overs in the fridge. I ended up choosing a very rare looking piece of prime rib roast, and decided to get creative making a sauce for it.

Disclaimer: I had ZERO idea what I was doing, I just threw  bunch of stuff in a pan. Also, since I was winging it there are no measurements, sorry. And if you don’t know how to cook the roast itself I suggest Googling it, because I will be of no help, not knowing how to do it myself. But here’s what I did if you’re interested.

So over medium heat I put some oil in a saucepan and added a tiny scoop of minced garlic. Once the garlic was sizzling along, I added balsamic vinegar and red wine, as well as a dash of salt, a bunch of freshly ground pepper, and some tarragon (because why not?).

My intent was to make a reduction of sorts, since that sounded like a good match for roast. So I let all this sizzle and reduce for a couple minutes.

I quickly realized I had way too much oil in my mixture so I used a turkey baster to remove some of it, since the reduction-y bits sunk down below my oily layer. Science!

Once I got some of the oil out of the pan, I put some more balsamic and wine in the pan so I would have enough sauce for my meaties.

When my new additions had reduced enough I took my slab-o-meat and put it into the pan to warm it from the fridge and coat it with sauce. I chose the rarest piece of meat so that any cooking action in my sauce wouldn’t over do the meat, smart, eh?

Once the meat was warm I put it on my plate and poured the remaining sauce over top.

photo (62)

Looks pretty good, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

