Magical Delicious Wonder Smoothie

So a friend of mine, Britney, has a blog. It’s called Savour & Shine and she talks about nutrition and shares lots of recipes. I find something new that I like every time I visit there, and on one such occasion I found a smoothie recipe I wanted to try.

For Hanukkah (did you know I was Jewish? Then why do I love Christmas, you ask? Because it’s magical holiday spirit I really love and I find much more of that with Christmas songs and movies than Hanukkah stuff! I digress…) my parents gave me a Nutribullet food processor/blender/extractor contraption and so I’ve been rather obsessed with smoothies as of late.

This smoothie from Savour & Shine is by far my favourite (maybe because it’s the only one I’ve made without lettuce…greens are healthy and can be deliciously disguised by fruit, but it’s clearly not the same) and I’m excited to spread the love.

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie <click here for her much prettier blog post about it

1 medium banana
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 cup frozen raspberries
1/3 cup nonfat greek yogurt
2.5 teaspoons cocoa powder
1 tablespoon honey (optional)

Add all the ingredients to a blender or blender-like device and, well, blend.

Now you may have noticed this isn’t the most Gillian-friendly recipe since I can’t eat yogurt. Well that’s why I made a few adjustments. I didn’t have vanilla almond milk so I used regular and added a dash of vanilla extract and instead of yogurt I used the same amount of unsweetened applesauce. Also I didn’t use a single measuring device for my smoothie, I just eyeballed it all.

photo (74)

It was magically delicious (even without the honey to sweeten it up). I was so impressed with it I messaged Britney immediately to congratulate her on her discovery of the perfect blend of ingredients.

photo (75)

Mmm mmm!

2 thoughts on “Magical Delicious Wonder Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Handheld Meat Salad | gillian berns

Leave a Reply

