Coconut Spinach with Chickpeas and Lemon

I found another great recipe on thekitchn.com and so here I’m going to share it with you!

It’s Braised Coconut Spinach with Chickpeas and Lemon, and I recommend you give ‘er a go! I had to leave out a couple of ingredients (the sun-dried tomatoes and chilies) because of my allergies, but other than that I followed the recipe and it was excellent.

For 4 meal sized servings you will need:

1 pound of spinach
1 small onion (chopped)
a tablespoon of fresh ginger (grated or chopped fine)
1 15oz can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
1 14oz can of coconut milk
4 cloves of garlic (minced)
1 lemon (zested and juiced; about 2 tablespoons of juice)
2 tablespoons of oil
salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes
a dash of red pepper flakes

Heat oil in a large pot on medium high heat, then add the onion and let it cook until it begins to brown. Add the garlic, ginger, zest, chilies, and sun-dried tomatoes, and stir while that cooks for a few minutes. Add the chickpeas and crank the heat to high while the chickpeas turn golden. Then toss the spinach in, one handful at a time, letting each one wilt into the mixture. After that, add the can of coconut milk and lemon juice, and once that starts to boil, turn down the heat and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. Taste and add more lemon juice or salt and pepper to taste.

The original recipe suggests serving this over roasted sweet potatoes, but I used quinoa because I wanted to soak up the juiciness into a grain of sorts.

*The second time I ate this I had it over rice, which I thought paired better than the quinoa. This second time I also added a sprinkling of coconut shavings as I reheated it because I felt like it needed to taste more coconut-y and that was an excellent addition.

20160927_202640.jpg

I think having the sun-dried tomato and the chilies would be good flavour additions, and good colour additions. My dish was a little lacking in colour (as per usual) and while it tasted delicious, the added flavour dimension the red tidbits would have added, would have been welcome.

Maybe if I can kick my stomach issues to the curb I can try this again with the red! Until then, I’m happy being white and green.

Leave a Reply

