I can’t stop drooling.

As you may know because I have probably mentioned it in the past, I like Googling art. I also love books, and so when books are turned into art, I am doubly happy. (Of course part of me is sad the book can no longer be read, but the beauty makes me forget that pretty quick).

I found a book sculpturist named Guy Laramee who makes incredible landscape sculptures out of old books. His work is very intricate and detailed so that if you’re close enough to the piece it doesn’t even look like a book. He has so many pieces that I haven’t even had time to look at them all.

He says this about his work:

My work, in 3D as well as in painting, originates from the very idea that ultimate knowledge could very well be an erosion instead of an accumulation. The title of one of my pieces is “ All Ideas Look Alike”. Contemporary art seems to have forgotten that there is an exterior to the intellect. I want to examine thinking, not only “what” we think, but “that” we think.
So I carve landscapes out of books and I paint romantic landscapes. Mountains of disused knowledge return to what they really are: mountains.

It really just needs to speak for itself, though, so here is one of my favourites. It’s called Irazu and it’s from his ‘Desert of Unknowing’ Collection.

yep

 

Leave a Reply

