Grown Up Hot Dog Spaghetti

I got home from work last night hungry and wanting something comfort foodish. Recently I was reminded of hot dogs threaded onto spaghetti, which has always looked fun but I have never had or made it. So I figured I would attempt it, and to make it a little more grown up, I put it in a red onion balsamic sauce. Mmm.

All of this was accomplished by winging it, so the measurements will be very unhelpful, FYI.

For one serving you will need:

3 hot dogs cut into 1/2 inch chunks
a nice portion of dried spaghetti
some chopped red onion
a bit of minced garlic
a good dash of chopped parsley
a few glugs of olive oil
a couple healthy splooshes of balsamic vinegar
salt to taste

Spear your hot dog chunks with a couple raw spaghetti noodles, I did 3 chunks along a pair of noodles, but I don’t think there’s a right or wrong number. Just spear your hot dogs before cooking the noodles. Once you’ve got your noodles and dogs cooking in a pot, heat your olive oil in a pan and cook your onion until it’s translucent. Add in your garlic and a sploosh of balsamic. Let that cook for a few minutes, then add your drained pasta and dogs to the pan and sploosh more balsamic over top. Add in the parsley and mix everything together for a few minutes to let the flavours meld. Salt to taste, and serve!

20170209_215446.jpg

This was a fun experiment that turned out really well. It was delicious; I finished it and wished that I had made more. Super quick and easy, I will definitely make this one again!

Leave a Reply

