Miso Fail

The other day I attempted to make miso soup. And it kinda worked, but mostly not.

It was a loose interpretation of the proper ingredients, and it ended up not being the most ideal. I used what I had in my fridge, so instead of green onion I used red and instead of seaweed I used spinach. Both good flavors, but they don’t scream Asian Cuisine.

This is how it went. I used:

4 cups water
3 tablespoons miso paste
1 handful spinach
2 1/2 chopped red onion
2 tablespoons tofu cubed
1 glug of oil

Heat oil in a pot over medium heat. Cook onions for about 2 minutes, then add the water and bring to a simmering boil. Meanwhile whisk miso paste with some hot water to prevent it from clumping. Then add it, the spinach, and tofu to the pot and stir well. Let everything simmer for about 10 minutes, then serve.

20170210_173320

The broth itself tasted good, miso has nice flavour on its own and then you get a hint of red onion in there. But the spinach was way too flimsy of a leaf to work, plus I’m not the biggest fan of warm floppy spinach.

Having the chunks of red onion in there was also not very good, though it did add a nice crunch to my mouthfuls.

The tofu worked just fine, though I would have liked it to have more flavour because the broth didn’t have enough pizzazz to make the tofu special. It was just kind of there.

All in all, I think I would have preferred to strain the soup and just drunk it as a broth, or perhaps not put anything other than miso in it at all.

Next time I’ll be sourcing some green onions for this and likely leaving out the green option all together.

Happy Monday!

One thought on “Miso Fail

Leave a Reply

