Adventure Day

The other day I went on an adventure. I had nothing to do and no one to do it with so I decided to make some fun for myself.

I got in my car in the morning and headed for Bridal Veil Falls Park. It’s about an hour and forty minute drive from my place, and I arrived there just before noon. There’s about a fifteen minute hike on a trail up to the waterfall that the park is named after. The water runs down an almost sheer face setting off white water spray in the shape of a bride’s wedding veil. It was beautiful. The pictures–of course— don’t do it justice, and there’s no apt way to describe the spray blowing out against your skin. You can stand right up at the falls, and if it hadn’t been such a cloudy, cool day I would’ve stood under the water. I explored around there for a while but there’s only so much you can do standing around a waterfall by yourself, so after taking a bunch of pictures and exploring the really neat river that the falls feed into, I headed back on the road.

photo (44)                                              photo (45)

From there I headed towards Harrison Hot Springs which was only about a twenty-five minute drive. Before Harrison is a little town called Agassiz. I stopped there to explore a bit as I still had a lot of day light left. The town is basically just one block long with a little park on one side and cute store fronts all lined up on the other side. I went into a store that sold just about everything–clothes, shoes, bedding, tools, toys, food, DVDs, and books. I ended up buying some PopTarts from there (did you know strawberry PopTarts are dairy free?) since I wanted a snack. I also went into the towns library or a few minutes, a fun reminiscing from my flying days, as I spoke about in an earlier post.

From there I found my way to Harrison, a few minutes up the road and parked along the water. I wandered around the Harrison lagoon, a pond surrounded by sand basically, that sits between the town and Harrison Lake. There was a point where I was walking along the path between the lagoon and the lake, wind in my hair and enjoying the calling birds. Beautiful.

photo (46)

After exploring the waterfront I wandered along the towns main drag that has restaurants and touristy shops. I went into one and ended up finding something cool to add to my friend’s birthday gift (and she reads my blogs sometimes so I’m not telling you what it is!).

Once I had explored what the town had to offer I hopped back in my car and heading along the road that winds around (part of) the lake. It was a beautiful drive and it rained for a portion of my drive which was wonderful since it was the first cool rainy day I’d seen in a long time. That road led to some residential areas and then into Sasquatch Provincial Park Camping Grounds. I didn’t want to go in there so I turned around and headed back along that lakeside road.

photo (47)

I passed through Harrison and headed back to Agassiz because I was told there was a farmers market happening. I found the little market (‘little’ being an understatement as there were only eight or nine little stands in a tiny parking lot) and bought myself a vegan power cookie which had tons of vegan chocolate chips and it was delicious.

Since the farmers market only took about three minutes to walk through I got back in my car and drove along the farm roads. I saw cows and dogs and sheep roaming around in the big open fields. Once that got boring I headed home.

But since I didn’t want to give up on my adventure mode for the day, I pulled off the highway at any exit that had cool attraction signs. I ended up toodling around a few towns in Chilliwack and topping up my gas tank before making it home. Gas out in the valley there is super cheap. My tank was relatively full when I was there but I filled up at 116.9 as opposed to the 129.9 it was back in the city. Woo hoo!

By the time I got to my place it was about 7:30pm so I had a quick bite to eat and headed to a coffee shop to get some reading in. I closed down the coffee shop at 10:30pm and headed home to watch the second half of the Addams Family movie which I had started and fallen asleep to the night before.

It was a really fun day, going to Harrison (which I hadn’t seen in years) and exploring all the other areas around it. I was glad to have gotten out of the house to adventure on a day where I otherwise would have sat around and done not much of anything.

Leave a comment